# **Draft Minutes**



## Council

Date: 28 July 2020

Time: 5.00 pm

Present: Councillors T Suller (Chair), J Cleverly, P Cockeram, D Davies, M Al-Nuaimi,

M Evans, C Ferris, D Fouweather, G Giles, J Guy, D Harvey, I Hayat, Councillor R Jeavons, M Kellaway, M Linton, D Mayer, R Mogford,

Councillor J Mudd, M Rahman, J Richards, M Spencer, H Thomas, K Thomas,

C Townsend, Councillor R Truman, T Watkins, M Whitcutt, R White,

K Whitehead, D Wilcox, D Williams, G Berry, J Clarke, V Dudley, Y Forsey, R Hayat, T Holyoake, P Hourahine, J Hughes, J Jordan, L Lacey, S Marshall,

W Routley, H Townsend and J Watkins

Apologies: Councillors M Cornelious and C Evans

#### 1. Declarations of Interest

None received.

### 2. Appointment of Mayor / Chair of Council

It was proposed by the Leader and seconded by Councillor Matthew Evans that that Councillor Tom Suller be appointed Mayor of the City of Newport and Chair of Council for the current municipal year.

The Leader announced that Councillor Suller was being nominated as Mayor on the grounds of seniority because David Williams had deferred his Mayoral term of office.

#### Resolved:

It was unanimously resolved that Councillor Tom Suller be appointed Mayor of the City of Newport and Chair of Council for the current municipal year 20/21.

### Councillor Suller took over as Chair of the meeting at this point.

Councillor Suller and thanked the Leader and Council. The Mayor said that it was a great honour to accept the nomination of Mayor and he was looking forward to serving the City as its Frist Citizen.

It was unfortunate that under the circumstances, the Council was unable to hold a formal Mayor-making ceremony. However, the Civic event would take place as soon as it could be arranged safely.

The Mayor thanked the Outgoing Mayor, Councillor Routley and the Lady Mayoress for their sterling work during the past year.

The Mayor announced that his nominated charity would be the Alzheimer's Society and his Chaplain would be Father John Connell of St Mary's Church Marshfield.

## 3. Appointment of the Deputy Mayor

The Mayor was pleased to announce that Councillor Val Dudley had kindly agreed to serve as his Deputy Mayor.

#### Resolved:

It was unanimously resolved that Councillor Val Dudley be appointed Deputy Mayor of the City of Newport and Chair of Council for the current municipal year 20/21.

# 4. Appointment of the Leader of the Council

The Mayor invited someone to move the appointment of Leader of the Council.

Councillor Mudd declared an interest at this point.

The Leader, as elected announced her appointment of Cabinet Members:

Post	Appointed
Leader, Chair of Cabinet and Cabinet Member for Regeneration and Housing	Cllr Jane Mudd
Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for City Services	Cllr Roger Jeavons
Cabinet Member for Education and Skills	Cllr Gail Giles
Cabinet Member for Social Services	Cllr Paul Cockeram
CM for Assets	Cllr Majid Rahman
Cabinet Member for Sustainable Development	Cllr Deb Davies
Cabinet Member for Licensing and Regulation	Cllr Ray Truman
Cabinet Member for Community and Resources	Cllr David Mayer
Cabinet Member for Culture and Leisure and Business Manager	Cllr Deb Harvey

**Opposition Spokespersons:** 

Post	Appointed
Leader of the Opposition	Cllr Matthew Evans
Deputy Leader / Education and Skills	Cllr William J Routley
Business Manager / City Services	Cllr David Fouweather

Social Services	Cllr Joan Watkins
Licensing and Regulation / Assets	Cllr Martyn Kellaway
Sustainable Development	Cllr Richard White
Community and Resources / Member Development	Cllr Ray Mogford
Culture and Leisure	Cllr Charles Ferris

#### Agreed:

Councillor Jane Mudd was unanimously appointed as Leader of the Council

#### 5. Appointment to Chairs of Committee

Following nominations by the Leaders of their respective parties, and the nominations having been duly seconded, the following Committee Chair appointments were agreed by Council:

Planning Committee	Cllr John Richards
Licensing Committee	Cllr J Hughes
Democratic Services Committee	Cllr C Ferris
Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee	Cllr L Lacey
Performance Scrutiny Committee - Partnerships	Cllr J Clarke
Performance Scrutiny Committee – People	Cllr J Watkins
Performance Scrutiny Committee – Place and Corporate	Cllr C Evans

(The nominated persons listed above declared an interest in this item and did not vote on their specific appointments).

### 6. Appointment to Committees

Each Group Leader agreed to pass the appointments of members of Committees to the Proper Officer for recording. These membership details will follow and be updated in due course.

In addition, the following was nomination was made:

Teacher Representative for SACRE - Tanya Simmonds

## 7. Appointment to External Bodies

The Council gave effect to appointments of members to external bodies.

Each Group Leaders agreed to pass the appointments to Outside Bodies and members with Special Responsibilities to the Proper Officer for recording in the Minutes. See Appendix 1 below.

In addition, the following School Governor Appointments were included:

Governing Body	Vacancies	Appointment
Alway Primary	Re appointment	Michelle Miles
Bassaleg School	Re appointment	Chris Evans

Maes Ebbw Special School	Re appointment	Victoria Cox-Wall
Maes Ebbw Special School	Re appointment	Kate Thomas
St Gabriel's RC Primary School	Re appointment	Jan Furtek
St Julians School	Re appointment	Louise Moore
The John Frost School	Appointment/Vacancy	Jan Atkinson
The John Frost School	Re appointment	Trevor Watkins
Ysgol Gymraeg Casnewydd	Re appointment	Meirion Rushworth
Ysgol Gymraeg Casnewydd	Re appointment	Llio Elgar
St Joseph's RC High School	Re appointment	Mark Whitcutt
Clytha Primary School	Re appointment	Matthew Evans

#### 8. Appointment of Chief Executive

It was moved by the Leader and duly seconded that Beverly Owen be appointed as Chief Executive in accordance with the recommendation of the Appointments Sub-Committee.

Councillor Matthew Evans, asked that it be noted that he would be voting against the recommendation of the Appointments Sub-Committee. However, this was not intended as a personal reflection on the individual concerned.

#### Resolved:

By a majority vote, it was resolved that Beverly Owen be appointed as Chief Executive and Head of Paid Service.

#### 9. Members Scheme of Allowances 2020/21

The Independent Remuneration Panel for Wales (IRPW) was the body tasked with setting the remuneration levels for councils in Wales. The IRPW made determinations in relation to basic and senior salaries, and also the rates and conditions for expenses paid by public authorities.

The IRPW Annual Report 20/21 was reported to Council on 27 February 2020 as part of the Minutes of the Standards Committee meeting on 20 February. The IRPW determined that there should be an inflationary increase of £350 (2.5%) to the basic annual salary of £13,866, giving an increased basic salary of £14,218, which would be backdated to 1 April 2020.

The Mayor moved acceptance of the report and it was duly seconded.

#### Resolved:

That Council approved and adopted the Members Schedule of Remuneration for 2020/21 as set out in Appendix 1 of the report.

That concluded the business of the AGM, the Mayor therefore thanked councillors for attending the meeting remotely and declared the meeting closed.

The meeting terminated at 17:35